Since August, 2016, OWCLA has submitted twelve formal complaints to the Ontario Office of the Ombudsman focusing on questionable business practices by staff and members of Council of the corporation of the municipality of Lambton Shores. We asked that the complaints be dealt with altogether rather than separately in order that the Ombudsman gets a complete picture of our concerns with how this municipality is being governed and managed.

The Ombudsman accepted our request and as of December, 2016 began the process of investigating the complaint package. We have been notified by an Ombudsman’s Early Resolution Officer that we will be apprised of developments with our file as they occur. For your information the following is a brief summary of the nature of each complaint submitted to date.

Complaint #1 – August 2016

The municipality’s questionable handling of procedural issues as per their own Procedural By-law 41-2014.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #2 – August 2016

The municipality’s use of public funds.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #3 – September 2016

The municipality’s questionable handling of procedural issues during council meetings as per their own Procedural By-law 41-2014.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #4 – September 2016

The withholding of critical information from all members of Lambton Shores Council during discussions on the shaping of Draft 7 of the municipality’s Official Plan.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #5 – September 2016

The municipality’s questionable use of sewer development charges in the designated areas known as Zones 3 and 4 (the land between the Ausable River and Lake Rd., Grand Bend currently being serviced by private septic systems).
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #6 – September, 2016

The letter from the Ontario Minister of Energy inviting the Lambton Shores mayor to write to the Ministry with his initial thoughts about the scope of the Province’s next Long-Term Energy Plan. The letter was dated May 19, 2016 with a required input date of June 15, 2016. The letter did not make its way to the Lambton Shores Council table until July 19, 2016, more than a month after the required due date. According to the municipal Clerk, in an article in the Exeter Times-Advocate newspaper, the letter got lost “in the mayor’s mail slot”.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #7 – October 2016

The various procedural and legislative anomalies arising from the August 23, 2016 Lambton Shores Council meeting.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #8 – October 2016

The various procedural and legislative irregularities arising from the October 4, 2016 Lambton Shores Council meeting.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #9 – December 2016

Various questions regarding municipal expenditures.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #10 – December 2016

Various questions regarding a County of Lambton social event hosted by the Mayor and Council of Lambton Shores within the municipality.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #11 – December, 2016

The specific actions of certain municipal staff and members of Council that contributed to the shaping of the language used in Draft 7 of the municipality’s Official Plan revision.
Read More (Members Only)

Complaint #12 – January 2017

Various questions regarding municipal expenditures, staffing arrangements and operating costs for the Grand Bend and Area Sewage Treatment Facility.
Read More (Members Only)

All of our complaints are fact based and have been submitted with the necessary supporting documentation. None are intended to be frivolous or vexatious. We will continue to submit any unresolved concerns we have with the municipality to the Ombudsman and keep you up to date on the results of any investigation.

What does the Ombudsman do?

Role of the Ombudsman

Have a Complaint?

https://www.ombudsman.on.ca/